Monday, January 22, 2018

Celebrate the 50th anniversary of UK fandom with FANSCENE!

Comics fandom in the UK is just over half a century old, and this year is the 50th anniversary of the very first comic con in Britain. With this in mind, a few months ago David Hathaway-Price set himself the enormous task of producing a fanzine to celebrate the occasion. The result is what can only be described as the ultimate in fanzines; a massive 324 page digital publication! 

Titled Fanscene, the contents include contributions from Alan Moore (who was there back at the beginnings of fandom), Nigel Kitching, Dave Hornsby, Dave Windett, Steve Noble, Dez Skinn, Nick Neocleous, John Freeman, Martin Forrest, Rob Kirby, Geoff Lamprey, John Jackson, Mike Teague and many, many more. There's an interview with the late Leo Baxendale, Mike Conroy interviews Phil Clarke, there's tributes to Steve Whittaker, Alan Austin, Steve Moore and Jim Baikie, and lots of other great stuff. 


David Hathaway-Price has accomplished an incredible job with Fanscene which is not only a tribute to the glory days of fanzines that will spark many memories but it's also an education for those who weren't there. And best of all, it's free! You can download it from the first link in the following list, or read it online in three parts, or use the last link to download a higher resolution file to have it printed.

FANSCENE Download and read
https://drive.google.com/…/1v4htUqh7voJY4pNB7z7LrPLNZ…/view…
FANSCENE PRINT VERSION (1.8 Gigs. Zip file)
http://sendanywhe.re/686GJTJL
Congratulations to David and all concerned for such a marvellous mag! And the celebrations will continue this year with some events being worked out to commemorate 50 years of UK conventions. More news as it happens!





Marvel Universe Figurine Collection - starts this week

On sale from Wednesday 24th January is issue 1 of the Marvel Universe Figurine Collection from Panini. Each 16 page issue is accompanied with a figurine of a classic Marvel character, kicking off with Spider-Man. 



You'll find out all the details at the product's website:
https://marvel-figurines.panini.co.uk/#page/1



More collections from 2000AD...

It's going to be a cracking year of graphic novel collections from 2000AD. As well as the aforementioned full colour Halo Jones books, there will also be many other titles to look forward to throughout 2018. Here's the press release with the full information...

The best-selling low price pocket-sized digest editions of Judge Dredd classics move into colour with two all-time great stories in May and August – Dredd teams up with DC Comics’ Batman in the famous Judgement on Gotham while a former Mega-City space marine returns home to find only despair and revenge in Mandroid.

The ever-popular Dark Judges dominate 2018 with two collections. October’s Dominion by John Wagner and Nick Percival follows on from 2015’s Dark Justice and sees the Fearsome Foursome, previously marooned in space, plunge a planet into absolute horror.

The final story in the comic book tie-in to DREDD brings Judge Death to the world of Alex Garland’s gritty, violent 2012 movie. Collected in December, Karl Urban’s version of Dredd confronted with his strangest and most challenging case yet in The Dead World by Arthur Wyatt, Alex De Campi, and Henry Flint.

Collections of the best of the 2000 AD archive continue with secret-agent-turned-secret-weapon M.A.C.H.1, and the first volume of the seminal Future Shocks reveals the extraordinary breadth of 2000 AD’s nursery for new talent for the first time.

Set in a post-war LA where magic is a fact of life, Guy Adams and Jimmy Broxton’s Hope was one of the breakout hits of 2017 and the collection in November is a claustrophobic, atmospheric noir thriller for fans of James Elroy and Vertigo’s Hellblazer, where a magic-wielding private eye investigating the kidnap of a child movie star gets caught in a web of intrigue and betrayal he could never have imagined. All the while being stalked by a nun in a gasmask…

And in October, Alan Grant and Arthur Ranson’s breathtaking Mazeworld will be republished in a larger format Collector’s Edition. Condemned murderer Adam Cadman who as he is hanged finds himself transported to a fantasy world, the executioner’s hood and noose both fixed to his skin. Is Cadman the fabled ‘Hooded Man’ who will overthrow the tyrant of Mazeworld? And what of his comatose body back in the ‘real’ world?


The full 2000 AD graphic novel schedule for 2018:

16/01/2018  9781781086025  Grey Area (TPB £16.99/$19.99)
08/02/2018  9781781086223  Ant Wars (TPB £10.99/$17.99)
22/03/2018  9781781086230  ABC Warriors: The Mek Files Vol. 4 (HB £25/$35.99)
22/03/2018  9781781086438  Strontium Dog: Repo Men (TPB £14.99/$17.99)
22/03/2018  9781781086131  M.A.C.H. 1: The John Probe Mission Files (TPB £16.99/$23)
05/04/2018  9781781086315  Judge Dredd Case Files 15 (US edition) (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
05/04/2018  9781781086315  Judge Dredd: Case Files 31 (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
04/05/2018  9781781086278  2000 AD Digest: Judge Dredd/Batman (Digest TPB £6.99)
17/05/2018  9781781086353  Halo Jones Book 1 (TPB £9.99/$9.99)
14/06/2018  9781781085592  The Complete Future Shocks Vol. 1 (TPB £19.99/$25.99)
12/07/2018  9781781086360  Halo Jones Book 2 (TPB £9.99/$9.99)
26/07/2018  9781781086285  Brink Volume 2 (TPB £12.99/$13.99)
26/07/2018  9781781086292  Lawless Volume 2 (TPB £14.99/$17.99)
09/08/2018  9781781086308  2000 AD Digest: Judge Dredd - Mandroid  (Digest TPB £6.99)
09/08/2018  9781781086322  Sláine: The Brutania Chronicles Book 4 (HB £15.99/$23.99)
23/08/2018  9781781086339  Judge Dredd: Nobody Apes The Law (TPB £14.99/$17.99)
18/09/2018  9781781086377  Halo Jones Book 3 (TPB £9.99/$9.99)
16/10/2018  9781781086544  Dark Justice: Dominion (HB £19.99/$24.99)
04/10/2018  9781781086568  Mazeworld (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
13/11/2018  9781781086582  Hope (TPB £10.99/$14.99)
29/11/2018  9781781086612  Judge Dredd Case Files 32 (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
29/11/2018  9781781086629  Dredd: Final Judgement (TPB £12.99/$17.99)




Saturday, January 20, 2018

Halo Jones collected - and coloured!

The Ballad of Halo Jones is to be collected in book form again, but this time it'll be remastered in full colour! Here's the press release from Rebellion...

A new colour version of Alan Moore and Ian Gibson’s all-time feminist classic, Halo Jones, leads an incredible year of graphic novel releases from 2000 AD!

Coloured by breakout Italian newcomer Barbara Nosenzo and published in three volumes this year, Halo Jones is an ordinary unemployed teenager living on a crowded and oppressive housing project floating off the coast of Manhattan. Desperate to leave her humdrum life, she escapes as a stewardess aboard a luxury space-liner but a chance encounter has ramifications far beyond Earth. And after she enlists in a dehumanizing interstellar war she becomes embroiled in an unlikely and complicated romance, her humanity tested and strained as she matures.

The first progressive feminist character in British comics, Halo Jones is a mature masterpiece of characterisation and world-building, and heralded the extraordinary talent of the writer who went on to pen Watchmen and V For Vendetta. Ian Gibson’s superlative art is complemented and energized by Nesenzo’s pitch-perfect new colours in an ideal edition for those yet to dive into Halo’s incredible but utterly relatable world.
Volume 1 on sale 17th May 2018, £9.99





Coming up in 2000AD...

Reaction to these previews of 2000AD is usually very quiet or non-existent, despite the fact that my blog is often the first to show the pages. Is it worth my time to continue posting these previews every week, or do you prefer to wait until the comic is in the shops to see what's in it? Let me know by leaving a comment please.

UK & DIGITAL: 24th January 2018 £2.75
NORTH AMERICA: 24th February 2018 $7.99
DIAMOND CODE: NOV171839
COVER: CHRIS WESTON

2000AD Prog 2065
In this issue:
JUDGE DREDD: ECHOES by Michael Carroll (w) Colin MacNeil (a) Chris Blythe (c) Annie Parkhouse (l)

SAVAGE: THE THOUSAND YEAR STARE by Pat Mills (w) Patrick Goddard (a) Ellie De Ville (l)

BRASS SUN: ENGINE SUMMER by Ian Edginton (w) INJ Culbard (a) Ellie De Ville (l)

BAD COMPANY: TERRORISTS by Peter Milligan (w) Rufus Dayglo (a) Dom Regan (c) Simon Bowland (l)


ABC WARRIORS: FALLOUT by Pat Mills (w) Clint Langley (a) Annie Parkhouse (l) 

Available in print from: UK newsagents and all good comic book stores via Diamond 





Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...